Subscribing Customers

Customers must be subscribed to receive marketing messages through Connect. To determine whether a customer has subscribed or not, you can check the Connect Preferences setting in the customer profile. It will also show where the customer was acquired from, in a field called Source. These fields are not editable-- this means that clients cannot subscribe or unsubscribe their customers from Connect. Instead, the customer has to do it themselves.

Customers will need to subscribe to each location they wish to receive messages from. Even if the client has multiple locations, the customer has to specifically opt-in for each one. However, once a customer subscribes to a location, the organization will be able to send messages to that customer as well. Customers do not need to subscribe to the organization.

When a customer opts-in to receive messages through Connect by entering a cell phone number, the system will first check to see if a customer profile with that cell phone number already exists. If it exists, the customer will be subscribed with their existing profile. If the system does not find a matching cell phone, a new customer profile will be created and subscribed. Cell Phone should not be confused with Home Phone, which does not have to be unique per customer.

Unsubscribing Customers

If a customer wishes to unsubscribe, or stop receiving marketing messages, they will need to reply 'STOP' to the last message they received. When this happens, the SMS provider will prevent any further messages from being sent to the customer from that entity. 

Neither Blackbird staff nor client staff are able to make changes to subscription status on behalf of customers. Customers can unsubscribe and resubscribe at any time.

That’s pretty much all there is to Connect subscriptions! If you have any further questions, feel free to reach us anytime by clicking on the help chat in the bottom left of your screen. We’re always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?